Skip to content

Area MLAs named to cabinet positions

Premier gives Innisfail-Sylvan Lake MLA Devin Dreeshen and Rimbey-Rocky Mountain House-Sundre MLA Jason Nixon cabinet positions
MVT stock Alberta Legislature Building
Premier Danielle Smith named her cabinet on June 9. Photo courtesy of Legislative Assembly of Alberta

SUNDRE - Premier Danielle Smith named her cabinet today (June 9) and area MLAs are included.

The are now 25 members of cabinet, a decrease from the previous 27.

Innisfail-Sylvan Lake MLA Devin Dreeshen maintains his posting as minister of Transportation and Economic Corridors. He was sworn in as the minister of that portfolio in Smith's first cabinet shake-up in October of 2022 after winning the UCP leadership race and replacing Jason Kenney as premier.

Dreeshen previously was minister of Agriculture and Forestry under Kenney before resigning from the post in November 2021 to focus on his “personal health and wellness."

He is also one of nine MLAs Smith named to the Treasury Board as well.

Rimbey-Rocky Mountain House-Sundre MLA Jason Nixon has been named minister of Seniors, Community and Social Services.

Nixon was minister of Environment and Parks under Kenney's premiership but when Smith became leader he was out of cabinet but appointed to chair the new Economy and Affordability Cabinet Policy Committee.

Olds-Didsbury-Three Hills MLA Nathan Cooper did not receive a cabinet position. Prior to the election he served as the speaker of the legislature, a position which is selected by secret ballot in the first session of a new legislative assembly.

Cabinet members were sworn in on the morning of June 9 and will begin receiving briefings from their departments.

“I am so pleased to have this team working with me to deliver on the promises we made to Albertans during the election. These are not just our government’s priorities, they are Albertans’ priorities. The next four years start today, and I can’t wait to get back to work with each of my cabinet colleagues,” Smith said in a prepared statement issued after the swearing-in.

Following is the list of appointments:

• premier and minister of Intergovernmental Relations – Danielle Smith

• deputy premier and minister of Public Safety and Emergency Services – Mike Ellis

• minister of Advanced Education – Rajan Sawhney

• minister of Affordability and Utilities and Vice-chair of Treasury Board – Nathan Neudorf

• minister of Agriculture and Irrigation – RJ Sigurdson

• minister of Arts, Culture and Status of Women – Tanya Fir

• minister of Children and Family Services – Searle Turton

• minister of Education – Demetrios Nicolaides

• minister of Energy and Minerals – Brian Jean

• minister of Environment and Protected Areas – Rebecca Schulz

• minister of Forestry and Parks – Todd Loewen

• minister of Health – Adriana LaGrange

• minister of Immigration and Multiculturalism – Muhammad Yaseen

• minister of Indigenous Relations – Rick Wilson

• minister of Infrastructure – Pete Guthrie

• minister of Jobs, Economy and Trade – Matt Jones

• minister of Justice – Mickey Amery

• minister of Mental Health and Addiction – Dan Williams

• minister of Municipal Affairs – Ric McIver

• minister of Seniors, Community and Social Services – Jason Nixon

• minister of Service Alberta and Red Tape Reduction – Dale Nally

• minister of Technology and Innovation – Nate Glubish

• minister of Tourism and Sport – Joseph Schow

• minister of Transportation and Economic Corridors – Devin Dreeshen

• president of Treasury Board and minister of Finance – Nate Horner

Treasury Board members will include:

• Nate Horner (president)

• Nathan Neudorf (vice-chair)

• Andrew Boitchenko

• Devin Dreeshen

* Mike Ellis

• Brian Jean

* Dale Nally

* Rajan Sawhney

* Rebecca Schulz

push icon
Be the first to read breaking stories. Enable push notifications on your device. Disable anytime.
No thanks